Recipes / Twelve Days of Cookies

12 Days of Cookies: Day 2, “Boss” Cookies

Boss Cookies- Headnote Image

How many of us like our bosses? I mean, really like them.

While I was working at Yale Divinity School, my boss was, well, my boss, but she was also like my big sister. A big sister…I really liked. I still jokingly call her “Boss” and I am sure she finds the moniker as annoying now as she did then, but isn’t that what little sisters are for? In all seriousness though, there aren’t that many people whom I esteem more than I do her. She is one of the most thoughtful people I know. And, I mean that in the colloquial and most expansive sense. She also has a beautiful daughter whom she is raising up to be a kind, spunky young lady.

Boss Cookies- Take a Bite

One year, for Christmas (and the year after that), “Boss” baked me a a batch of cookie bars. Only, instead of chocolate chips, these beauties were chockfull of mint M&Ms. This was impressive on several counts.

First, Boss is NOT a cook. I don’t mean she’s a bad cook. At the time, she didn’t really cook AT ALL. Her subsistence-level cooking was supplemented with Diet Coke and Laffy Taffy- the banana-flavored ones (head desk*). Second, “Boss” did not rely on boxed cookie mix or pre-made cookie dough. I mean, come on, this is a woman whose signature dish is red rice and beans- the “red” being Newman’s Own salsa. And, third, not only did she make the cookie dough from scratch, she innovated upon the Tollhouse recipe. I didn’t even know mint M&Ms existed!

So, I can only conclude that she liked me too. Pretty much, like a lot. Almost as much as I loved, loved, loved those cookie bars.

Boss Cookies- Crumb

These cookies could never match Boss’ cookie bars but they are gluten-free and pretty darn good. I “innovated” a chocolate chip cookie recipe from Jeanne Sauvage’s website, Art of Gluten-Free Baking. I’ve just discovered her work and look forward to testing a couple more of her recipes. I recommend using her gluten-free all-purpose flour mix for this recipe, which is easy to throw together. These cookies are soft when eaten warm out of the oven. However, once they’ve had a chance to cool, they’re delightfully crisp, the flavor of brown sugar shines, and there is just the right amount of minty-ness.

Jeanne’s Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mix:
1 ¼ c. brown rice flour
1 ¼ c. white rice flour
1 c. tapioca flour
1 c. sweet rice flour
2 scant tsp xanthan gum

Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Cookies # 2
adapted by Jeanne Sauvage, slightly adapted again

Makes approximately 40 cookies

2 c. Jeanne’s Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour mix
¾ tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
¾ tsp salt
5 oz (10 tbsp) unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ c. dark brown sugar
½ c. granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
1- 9 oz bag of Mint M&Ms

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the gluten-free all-purpose flour with the baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, granulated sugar, and brown sugar until light and fluffy, about 5-7 minutes. Add the egg and beat on medium speed until combined. Add the vanilla and mix until combined. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.

3. Fold the Mint M&Ms by hand or you will end up with a lot of shattered candy in your cookie dough. Not pretty.

4. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 36 up to 72 hours. If you plan on keeping the dough around for longer than that. Pre-portion them and throw the balls of dough into the freezer.

5. When you are ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat. The refrigerated dough is quite firm so I cut and weighed out 20 g chunks of dough and rolled them into a ball-shape with my hands. Place the balls of dough on the prepared sheet pan and flatten the balls of dough slightly with the palm of your hand. Think, round-ish disk. The cookies won’t spread much so space them about 2 inches apart.

6. Bake for 17 minutes. For the best texture, the centers of the cookies should look a little moist.

6 thoughts on “12 Days of Cookies: Day 2, “Boss” Cookies

  1. Wow. I have never had a recipe included in a blog, or a recipe book, or, well, anywhere. (Although I have to tell you that I have expanded my cooking repertoire lately to include “stuff in a crockpot.” I had a sad day of spying the mint M and Ms in the store and almost buying them, and then putting them back. My daughter doesn’t like mint, and you up and moved. Le sigh! Congrats on the great blog!

  2. Hi Tiffany! I look forward to reading this blog. I still remember how you taught me to put salt on brownies and what a great idea that was.
    love, the boss who abandoned you and is so glad you loved your new Boss.

    • Hi Barbara,

      It’s great to hear from you! How did you find me?

      love, the employee who hated to see you go but was glad that her new boss turned out to be awesome.

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Cookies: Day 7, Jam Thumbprint Cookies | sweet potato and bacon

  4. Pingback: Twelve Days of Cookies | sweet potato and bacon

  5. Pingback: 12 Days of Cookies: Day 7, Jam Thumbprints

Leave a Reply

